Awards, rewards, and other incentives

EdTech & Organizational Learning Meetup

Wednesday, 17 November 2021, 6.00 PM - 8.00 PM

In this meetup, we’ll look at awards, rewards, and other incentives in learning. How can you use them to motivate learners? And how do you make sure the incentives you’re offering align with the actions you want learners to take?

 

TALK 1
Edubadges: Digital Certificates to Recognize Student Achievement
Aswin van Oijen, Associate Professor of Strategy and Head of the Management Department, Tilburg School of Economics and Management.

Edubadges are digital certificates that allow students to demonstrate that they have acquired particular knowledge and skills. Edubadges can be shared via social media such as LinkedIn, for example with potential employers and other schools. At Tilburg School of Economics and Management, we have piloted the use of edubadges in our course on strategy consulting. In the talk, we will share our experiences. Specifically, we go into the use and advantages of edubadges, as well as some of the obstacles in implementing them.

 

TALK 2

Relative Performance Information (RPI) – How social comparison can enhance or decrease learning performance
Philip Autenrieth, Scientific Project Manager, International Performance Research Institute

RPI shows students their performance compared to the performance of other students. This is done through rankings or averages. Through social comparison, this mechanism works without explicit incentives. Decisive mechanisms of action are whether RPI is offered publicly or privately or what influence the composition of the comparison group has on the performance-changing effects. However, the effects of RPI are as diverse as its forms. In the talk, we present our findings on the different mechanisms of RPI and show how they can be used in education.

 

TALK 3

Motivation in Gaming and Learning – How incentives influence engagement and learning success
Lotta Krickel, Game Designer and consultant, Actionbound

Gamification has us playing everywhere. Educators, trainers, teachers try to use gaming techniques to keep learners engaged. One of the key elements that are being used to keep fun and motivation up are incentives, such as points, badges, high scores, awards, and so on.
But how do incentives actually work and how do they influence the players (or learners) brain regarding learning success and engagement? How can we make incentives more attractive to players? And when should we waive incentives all together? Lotta Krickel (Actionbound) gives ideas and suggestions in her talk.

 

Join us for free on campus or online.
You can sign up for the event HERE.

Limited to 20 on-site participants.
We will meet at the Frankfurt School AI Lab, floor 4, tower A, Adickesallee 32-34, Frankfurt.

Find out more about the EdTech & Organizational Learning Meetup series and the potential of EdTech HERE.

Follow us on our social media channels:

LinkedinXINGYouTube

Awards und Anerkennungen

EdTech & Organizational Learning Meetup

Mittwoch, 17 November 2021, 18:00 - 20:00 Uhr

Bei diesem Treffen werden wir uns mit Auszeichnungen und Anerkennungen für das Lernen befassen. Wie kann man sie einsetzen, um Lernende zu motivieren? Und wie stellen Sie sicher, dass die Anreize, die Sie bieten, mit den Handlungen übereinstimmen, die Sie von den Lernenden erwarten?

 

TALK 1
Edubadges: Digitale Zertifikate zur Anerkennung von Studentenleistungen
Aswin van Oijen, außerordentlicher Professor für Strategie und Leiter der Managementabteilung, Tilburg School of Economics and Management.

Edubadges sind digitale Zertifikate, mit denen Studierende nachweisen können, dass sie bestimmte Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten erworben haben. Edubadges können über soziale Medien wie LinkedIn weitergegeben werden, zum Beispiel an potenzielle Arbeitgeber und andere Schulen. An der Tilburg School of Economics and Management haben wir die Verwendung von edubadges in unserem Kurs über Strategieberatung erprobt. In diesem Vortrag werden wir unsere Erfahrungen teilen. Insbesondere gehen wir auf den Einsatz und die Vorteile von edubadges ein, aber auch auf einige Hindernisse bei der Umsetzung.

 

TALK 2

Relative Performance Information (RPI) – Wie sozialer Vergleich die Lernleistung verbessern oder verringern kann
Philip Autenrieth, Wissenschaftlicher Projektleiter, International Performance Research Institute

RPI zeigt den Schülern ihre Leistung im Vergleich zu den Leistungen anderer Schüler. Dies geschieht durch Ranglisten oder Durchschnittswerte. Durch den sozialen Vergleich funktioniert dieser Mechanismus ohne explizite Anreize. Entscheidende Wirkmechanismen sind, ob RPI öffentlich oder privat angeboten wird oder welchen Einfluss die Zusammensetzung der Vergleichsgruppe auf die leistungsverändernden Effekte hat. Die Wirkungen von RPI sind jedoch so vielfältig wie seine Formen. In dem Vortrag stellen wir unsere Erkenntnisse zu den verschiedenen Mechanismen von RPI vor und zeigen, wie sie im Bildungsbereich eingesetzt werden können.

 

TALK 3

Motivation beim Spielen und Lernen – Wie Anreize das Engagement und den Lernerfolg beeinflussen
Lotta Krickel, Spieldesignerin und Beraterin, Actionbound

Gamification lässt uns überall spielen. Pädagogen, Ausbilder und Lehrer versuchen, Spieltechniken einzusetzen, um die Lernenden zu beschäftigen. Eines der Schlüsselelemente, die eingesetzt werden, um den Spaß und die Motivation aufrechtzuerhalten, sind Anreize, wie Punkte, Abzeichen, hohe Punktzahlen, Auszeichnungen und so weiter.
Aber wie funktionieren Anreize eigentlich und wie beeinflussen sie das Gehirn der Spieler (oder Lernenden) in Bezug auf Lernerfolg und Engagement? Wie können wir Anreize für die Spieler attraktiver gestalten? Und wann sollten wir ganz auf Anreize verzichten? Lotta Krickel (Actionbound) gibt in ihrem Vortrag Ideen und Anregungen.

 

Besuchen Sie uns kostenlos auf dem Campus oder online.
HIER können Sie sich für die Veranstaltung anmelden.

Die Teilnehmerzahl vor Ort ist auf 20 begrenzt.
Wir treffen uns im Frankfurt School AI Lab, Stockwerk 4, Turm A, Adickesallee 32-34, Frankfurt.

HIER erfahren Sie mehr über die EdTech & Organizational Learning Meetup-Reihe und das Potenzial der EdTech.

Folgen Sie uns auch auf unseren Social Media Kanälen:

LinkedinXINGYouTube